Leave Your Old Self Behind

Journal Activity - June 9, 2024

WELCOME!

If you are receiving this email, there is a good chance that you know there is an aspect of your mindset that you need to change. Growth requires you to change. It requires you to LEAVE YOUR OLD SELF BEHIND.

When my youngest son was 6-years old he wanted to be a “bad guy” when he grew up. He spent lots of time playing with his Batman Legos and he always preferred the bad guys that came in the sets. It was funny and cute and I wasn’t concerned with this idea at all, because he was 6. Today he is 20-years old. If he still wanted to be a “bad guy” I would be really worried!

I share this story to simply illustrate the point that all of us, throughout our lives, are constantly going to LEAVE OUR OLD SELF BEHIND. This process is what allows you to change and adapt to the season of life you are currently in. Who you were as a 6-year old probably served you well at that time in your life, but if you were that exact same person as a 13-18 year old now…we'll there would be some people who would be very concerned for you.

“Yesterday I was clever, so I wanted to change the world. Today I am wise, so I am changing myself.”

Rumi - 13th Century Poet

JOURNAL ACTIVITY

I want you to watch this old Nike commercial (90 seconds in length) that illustrates an inner dialogue between an OLD SELF and a NEW SELF that I’m sure you can relate to.

This weeks journal activity will focus on my favorite part of the dialogue from the commercial:

OLD SELF: Well, I’m the one who got us here!

NEW SELF: You’re the one hold me back!

I am challenging you to take some time to reflect on characteristics of your OLD SELF that helped you get where you are, but now are holding you back.

What do you need to, as the NEW SELF in the commercial says “I’m done with you”, so that you can run off in to the new phase of your life?

EXAMPLES:

  • Desire to prove people wrong about you pushed you to work, but now it causes you to think too much about what others think about you.

  • Desire to show that you belonged was once motivational, but now causes you to question if you do really belong.

  • The chase of a college scholarship was exciting at one point, but now it just causes you to stress out.

DAILY JOURNALS

If you haven’t already printed off the FREE2COMPETE athlete journal sheet & taped it on the inside front cover of your journal, I would encourage you to do that TODAY! It is attached below.

These daily journal activities - What Went Well Journal, a Gratitude Journal, Pre-Competion & Post Competition journal activities - are designed to provide you the opportunity to be intentional about your reflection and mental growth on a daily basis.

What impact could 10-20 minutes of mental work a day have in your life over the span of 1 month? 6 months? The next year?

F2C Athlete Journal .pdf166.74 KB • PDF File

Just reply to this email and ask. We’ll get back to you as soon as we can!